verbs on the pattern تَفَعَّلَ , present tense

This pattern generally means that you are doing pattern II yourself (or that something else is doing it to itself). For more meanings, look here Ex:

زَوَّجَنِيْ أبِيْ بِنْتَ عَمِّيMy father married me off to my cousin

i.e. He married me to someone else

whereas 

تَزَوَّجْتُ بِنْتَ عَمِّي means I married my cousin

i.e. I myself did the act

Also 

كَسَّرْتُ الزُّجَاجَ  I shattered the glass

whereas 

تَكَسَّرَ الزُّجَاجُ means the glass shattered (on its own)

(Most examples taken from Book 3)

 

Just like with pattern VI, when you have two taa’s on the beginning, you can drop one.  Ex (97:4)

تَنَزَّلُ from تَتَنَزَّلُ

See the following chart for how to conjugate  pattern V saalim

http://www.iu.edu.sa/web/spages/edu/syukbah/du4_5.htm

The above link corresponds to Madinah Book 3, Lesson 20

One Response to “verbs on the pattern تَفَعَّلَ , present tense”

  1. Binaa al Afaal 13 tafa’ala, yatafa’alu « English Explanation of Binaa al Af'aal Says:

    […] For a full conjugation of verbs (present tense) on this pattern (excluding dual), go  here […]

Comments are closed.


